I Witnessed Total Domination Twice on Super Bowl Sunday

Just like the Seahawks dominated the Broncos in Super Bowl 48, the inaugural Scott’s Vending Super Bowl Doubles tournament was won by the team that dominated everyone all day long.

Justin Mickelson and Cody Weigel literally led from game 1 Champsthrough qualifying, through match play and through two matches in the stepladder finals.  Their performance was so much stronger than anyone else, they led by over 200 pins at the end of the qualifying rounds.

As we posted on our Facebook page, it was total domination!!

In the finals, Justin and Cody defeated Jake Rortvedt and Steve Richter 439 – 431 on a match that was much closer than it should have been.

With a fairly even margin heading into the 10th frame, Jake stepped up and left a 2-10 


split on a ball that sailed wide of pocket.

Just needing a mark to seal the win, Justin rolled a 4-6-7 split and Cody took 2 on the count.

Steve then needed to step up and make the 2-10 split and have Jake get good count to steal the victory but the conversion was not made.

Justin and Cody earned $457 they split and will be deposited in their USBC SMART accounts.  Jake and Steve split $350.

Here is the rest of the step-ladder results:

Round 1

#5 Chris Meifert / Steve Meifert defeated #8 Sarah Paasch / Michael Schoerner 431 – 428 ($100 SMART)

#6 Jake Rortvedt / Steve Richter defeated #7 Andy Schneider / David Paasch 459 – 430 ($100)

Round 2

#4 Mike Charaus / Aaron Cleveland defeated #8 Chris Meifert / Steve Meifert  449 – 441 ($160)

#6 Jake Rortvedt / Steve Richter upset #3 Bryan Schnettler / Steve Schmit 466 – 461 ($160)

Round 3

#1 Justin Mickelson / Cody Weigel defeated #4 Mike Charaus / Aaron Cleveland 437 – 421 ($250)

#6 Jake Rortvedt / Steve Richter upset #2 Troy Felsinger / Jeremy Tock 483 – 396 ($250)


The Super Bowl Doubles featured a unique format where traditional games were combined with Baker style games and players alternated frames to make up a team game.  In the finals, players switched to an alternate-shot Baker game where players made one shot at a time and if pins were left standing the partner had to make the spare.

The format very exciting and especially fair because there is no strategy except the hottest player starts the game since as soon as a team stops striking, all strategy about who might get up in the 10th frame for the final ball is nullified.


Aaron Cleveland rocked a 300 game with his new Roto Grip Hyper CELL in just his second game using the ball.

Josh Fane and JJ Krahn were the winners in the One Shot Pot game.

Troy Felsinger was the lucky winner in the drawing for a Roto Grip Totally Defiant bowling ball donated by the ELITE Bowling Pro Shop.

We would like to express our gratitude to Scott’s Vending who donated $500 towards the general prize fund for the tournament and made for a wonderful payout with 36 participants.

We’re looking forward to some event improvements and a more exciting tournament in 2015!