Back-To-Back Winners for the First Time Ever in the Fab 5 Tournament


Over the weekend a group of bowlers from the Odyssey Fun Center Wednesday Misfits league became the first-ever team to repeat as champions in the Fab 5 tournament held this past Saturday.

The team of Duane WerdeoSherri Alfson,Shannon AlfsonJosh Bowen and Aaron Wulff got hot at the right time and capped off a consistent evening with a 458 – 453 win over Team Meyer.  The win was worth $500.

Click here to view a copy of the playoff bracket.

For Team Meyer it was a tough loss.  With a huge late rally, strikes by Chris Meifert and Bryan Schnettler, they put team captain Jeff Meyer in the position that if he struck the first shot in the 10th frame, they would be victorious.  A pesky 10-pin made them fall just 5 pins short of the championship.  They received $400 for their runner-up finish.  Click here to view the prize listing.

In other playoff action:

Round of 8

  • #8 Team Gmach upset #1 Team Bender 422-411
  • #4 Team Bowen defeated #5 Team Paul 419 – 401
  • #3 Team Meyer defeated #6 Team Richter 455-420
  • #7 Team Party Animals upset #2 Team Gloede

Round of 4

  • #4 Team Bowen defeated #8 Team Gmach 449-394
  • #3 Team Meyer defeated #7 Team Party Animals 441-408


Click here to see the qualifying results after Game 12, here to see after Game 8 and here to see after Game 4.




In the One-Shot-Pot game, Amy MeifertBen Cleveland and Arne Weinfurter all made good attempts at winning the jackpot, but in the endShelly Hamus called a 9-count and left a 10-pin standing to win the $285 pot.





In the drawing for a Roto Grip Bowling ball, Mike Charaus won what is believed to be his 3rdbowling ball.  Mike also won the Roto Grip Player of the year competition.





This year's Roto Grip Bowler of the Year goes to Aaron Cleveland.

Going into the final event, Aaron needed a solid showing to stay ahead of Mike Walters and Ben Cleveland.

When Ben and Aaron both did not make the cut to the playoffs, Mike was the final player who had a chance to pass Aaron.  With a 2nd place finish by Mike, we would have had a tie for Bowler of the Year, or with a win he would have the Championship outright.

Mike’s team finished tied for 5th and he settled for second place in the competition.


Click  here to view the entire season points listing.


We would like to thank Larry’s Distributing, Storm Bowling and Roto Grip bowling balls for their continuing generous support of our events.  They make this possible, and I encourage you to send your notes of THANKS for their support of us.


Click here to send an email to Tyson Gutschow of Larry’s Distributing

Click here to send an email to Ken Hummitzsch of Larry’s Distributing

Click here to send an email to Hank Boomershine of Storm Bowling

Click here to send an email to Roger Noordhoek of Roto Grip


This wraps up our 7th season of the 5-Star Tour.  To review any of the previous newsletters, click here to view the Monster Tournament, here to view the New Belgium Snow Day Ale Fab 5 Tournament, here to view the New Glarus Back 40 Bock Holiday Classic, and here to view the Goose Island Mild Winter Ale Galactic 9-Pin tournament.